Our curated exhibits at the South County Museum are intended to educate and excite our visitors.
From our main exhibit hall to our living history farm, we invite you to immerse yourself in all the South County Museum has to offer.
Explore the story of the bustling commercial fishing port of Point Judith or the famous legacy of Kenyon's Department Store. Engage with the storied history of the Indigenous Peoples of Rhode Island and the elegance of Narragansett Pier’s past. Learn about the traditional crafts of carpentry and blacksmithing - and even try them for yourself! There is no shortage of fascinating history displayed amongst our exhibits and within our collection of over 20,000 artifacts.
Founded in 1933, the South County Museum has preserved the rural history of southern Rhode Island for nearly ninety years! After moving twice in the first four decades of operation, the museum found it’s current home at Canonchet Farm in 1985. Once the site of a historic mansion built by former governor William Sprague IV (sadly lost to a fire at the turn of the 20th century), the museum now uses its eight-acre campus to house a number of buildings including our print shop, Metz exhibit hall, carpentry shop, blacksmith’s shop, carriage barn, and our soon-to-be textile shop!
Founded in 1933